Baker’s Fish House (Muskogee/Wagoner)

LOCATION: 3606 W 90th St N, Porter, OK 74454United States

PHONE NUMBER:

DATE OF VISIT: April 25, 2015

For my birthday dinner, my mom, my husband, my daughter and I visited Bakers Catfish restaurant in northern Muskogee, just south of Wagoner on highway 69. I chose to go there for my birthday for nostalgic reasons. When I was a kid, I always chose Bakers because of their fried frog legs. They were always great. But over the years, I have branched out and order other things from there. Over the years, I have had their catfish, fried chicken tenders, shrimp, steak and of course frog legs.   .

To start out, we ordered a large order of their “world famous” onion rings. These are the onion rings that for my entire life I have based all other onion rings against. Like “oh yeah, their onion rings are good, but there not Baker onion ring good!” When the onion rings came, they were served like normal: on a large glass platter with a couple of paper towels under them to soak up the grease. This order could have used a few more paper towels. When I got some out in plate, I took napkins and blotted and blotted at them. There was no real helping them; they were greasy.

On this particular night, I ordered a sirloin steak with a French fries, and a salad with blue cheese dressing. My husband ordered the same steak, but he chose a baked potato and ranch dressing. My mom had the catfish dinner with fries and salad with blue cheese dressing. My little girl would share off of our plates because they had no kids menu and she is the world’s pickiest eater. I knew fries would be the only thing they had that would really suit her.

When our salads arrived, the bowls were hot. Like fresh out of the dishwasher hot. A hot plate for the meal would have been okay, but not for a salad, that should undoubtedly be served cold. Their salad dressing comes in a little cup on the side. Neither of the three of us had cold salad dressing. It was warm. Had it sat out for hours?! I mean, call me crazy, but I thought salad dressings should be kept cold.

When my food arrived, I received a baked potato instead of fries. My mom also got a baked potato instead of fries. Her catfish dinner came with two of the smallest, hardest hushpuppies I have ever laid eyes on. I could smell the fishy-ness of her catfish from across the table. I asked my mom how the flavor was on the fish, she gave me a piece of it. If I had ordered it, I would have sent it back. In no way did the fish look, taste or smell like catfish. My steak was okay. It was reminiscent of a steak you would get from a Western Sizzlin. Not good, not bad…just kind of mediocre. When I mentioned that both my mom and I had ordered fries but got a baked potato the waitress shrugged. No offer to correct it. None.

I have to say that for an establishment that used to be synonymous with catfish, steaks and onion rings this place has made a drastic decline.

I will give it 2 ½ happy faces because the steak was tender. The onion rings, although greasy, were good.

Rating: Image result for smiley face eatingImage result for smiley face eating  1/2

Leave a comment